• Cafe seating in Ultimo at Vulcan Hotel
  • Standard queen room boutique hotel apartment Sydney
  • Superior twin room Vulcan Boutique Hotel Ultimo
Previous Slide Next Slide

Customer Reviews

Read about what our past customers have to say about us.

Customer Reviews:

Boutique quaint hotel 5 minutes walk from Darling Harbour

"Room 402 on the top floor was extremely spacious and fantastic value for money. We found the hotel clean and well appointed. The highlight for us was the convenience of the location so close to Darling Harbour without the noise. Customer service was flawless with friendly multilingual staff. The hotel manager Gonzague was especially helpful on arrival at solving promptly a booking mistake we had made. Breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced with lovely table service from Anais. We will be back next time we stay in Sydney."

Anne-Marie G, August 2018 (TripAdvisor)

Excellent location, clean hotel, friendly staff

"The room was a good size, the bed was really comfortable and I had a great night sleep, bathroom and room were very clean. Staff were friendly and check in was very easy even though we arrived after reception had closed. We were able to park in the street right out side hotel and we had left the parking before having to pay for it. Overall a great place to stay in a central location."

Jodi P, July 2018 (TripAdvisor)

Vulcan Hotel close by to Darling Harbour

"The Vulcan Hotel's accessibility to Darling Harbour just a few minutes walk away was very convenient. It is a lovely Boutique Hotel with a distinct feel of 'no rush' together with personalised intimacy. This was typified with family hotel owners providing one on one service for check in/ check out, and offering local travel advice. The Breakfast selection was lovely and simple located in an informal setting. While it did not provide the views and features that larger hotels spruik, I found value for money was very good."

David V, July 2018 (TripAdvisor)

A Sydney Surprise

"I arrived at the Vulcan a bit apprehensive after some trip advisor reviews and I was so pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The reception manned by Gonzaque was welcoming, helpful and friendly. I was a bit early on check in, no worries after a great lunch at the dumpling cafe (on the hotel recommendation) I was in my room early. 

The room was scrupulously clean with everything provided, a very comfortable bed and windows that could be opened for fresh air.  Two mornings of my stay I opted for breakfast at the hotel. Both were of a high standard as was the service by Yves. And like another reviewer I'd stay here just for the poached pears.

The location is fine. The walk from central station is an easy one - 10 -15 mins, easy walk to Darling harbour, powerhouse museum, and ferries. Easy walk to parks and Glebe. 
On leaving if you are going straight to the airport I recommend the airport shuttle, cheaper than the train and door to door. The staff will book it for you. Overall I found this to have been one of best experiences in a hotel. Would definitely stay here again when in Sydney."

Cabinluggage, July 2018 (TripAdvisor)

"Stayed here for 5 nights while attending a conference at the campus of the University of Sydney. Rooms are comfortable; good beds and a nice desk for doing a bit of work. Breakfast (not included) is good. And most importantly, the staff is really friendly and helpful."

Margriet Palm, July 2018 (Google My Business)

"Great staff. Great location. Clean and comfortable room...exactly as photos on website showed!"

Lisa Karbon, July 2018 (Google My Business)


"Wonderful friendly service. Concierge were fantastic, went out of their way to help and set this hotel apart from others i have stayed at. lovely quiet room in a great location close to city and Glebe"

628zoe, July 2018 (TripAdvisor)


"The staff was top-notch and extremely kind and accommodating. The pictures online don't do it justice and i highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Also a delicious breakfast as well!"

Expedia Reviewer, July 2018 (Expedia)

Sensational!!!

"I have to say that our experience at the Vulcan Hotel was outstanding!!

We were greeted very warmly by your lovely concierge (I can’t remember the gentleman’s name) but he was lovely
and very professional.

Our room was fabulous. Wonderfully presented, and we were delighted it had a window and fronted the courtyard and we could get fresh air. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom huge.

Breakfast in the morning was perfect eggs and equally good coffee. I ordered a simple meal but it was one of the best I’d had in ages. The owners (I’m guessing) presided over breakfast and were so friendly and accommodating. Without a doubt what sets the Vulcan apart was all the little thoughtful touches and friendly, professionalism. Not to mention, the Vulcan was SO affordable and amazing value!!! It was above and beyond anything I’d expected in this price range.

I will definitely be back and am just sad we didn’t discover this gem sooner. Can’t wait for another excuse to visit the city.

Thank you to all the staff and those who run the ship at the Vulcan."

Sarah T, June 2018 (TripAdvisor)

Our Reviews

  • Excellent mid-range hotel - 10 min walk from Central Station. Good for anyone attending conferences etc at UTS. Rooms accessible by stairs or lift and free wifi Great breakfast options including GF/Vegan etc. Decent coffee and great service

    Sam

  • Lovely Hotel. Very helpful staff. Hotel located at lovely location close just 15 mins away from Darling Harbour. Got a good feel about typical Sydney living from the interiors of the hotel. Great place to stay

    Vicki K